How to think about connection?

The connection between the city and the river can be defined in many ways. There are direct physical connections between industry, development and protective infrastructures. There are cultural and social connections that have shaped the communities and individuals residing along the river and within the surrounding cities. There are ecological connections between flora, fauna and larger networks within the region. It will be important for us to define these connections in order to engage them in meaningful ways.

When I begin to think about the connection between the city and the rive, firstly, I consider about the the downtown city frame, which mainly refer to the arrangement of roads and buildings. I plan to follow the frame of downtown when I design my pathway to connect visitor center and river.

Secondly, I am interested in creating a bridge to connect the two parts, even I feel it is odd to build a landscape bridge in Baton Rouge downtown, I remind myself of the Firm West8, which design lots of amazing bridge in landscape. so I confirm to design one in my site, in order to not only to connect but also to provide a passage for people to enjoy the landscape.

Thirdly, I focus on human activity and circulation, which can also be the connection.

This entry was posted in How to think about connection?, project1-002 connect. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment